A propos du $10 Club
Projets de lutte contre la pauvreté
Photos des Projets
Comment nous aider
Liens
Accueil - The $10 Club
The $10 Club
The $10 Club



Projets de lutte contre la pauvreté

Projets 2007

Janvier 2007

3,500 $ ont été accordés au projet Chikumbuso en Zambie, pour agrandir leur édifice et améliorer leurs efforts en faveur des femmes zambiennes en situation précaire. Le programme est basé à Ngombe Township, et s’adresse aux veuves, orphelins et grand-mères dont la vie a basculé à cause des effets dévastateurs du virus du SIDA. Nos fonds seront utilisés pour moderniser l’édifice en achetant du ciment, du bois, du sable, des pierres, des blocs de ciment, une toiture, des portes et cadres de portes, des fenêtres et cadres de fenêtres. Nous pourrons aussi financer cinq nouvelles machines à coudre, acheter une vaste gamme de matériel de couture ainsi que des ustensiles de cuisine. La nouvelle salle sera utilisée pour donner des cours d’alphabétisation, de sensibilisation au virus VIH et des formations. Ces formations incluront la couture, la préparation de biberons au lait maternisé pour les bébés qui n’arrivent pas à boire au sein, la préparation d’aliments sains et bon marché, ainsi que d’autres formations pratiques au quotidien.

Rapport sur le projet

Pour en savoir plus : www.chikumbuso.com

Photos supplémentaires : Photos des projets 2007.



Février 2007

3,520 $ ont été accordés à Outreach for World Hope pour financer l’achat de traitements antiparasitaires dans 16 villages guatémaltèques. Notre contribution permettra à près de 2,000 personnes de profiter de traitements contre les parasites qu’ils ne pourraient acheter autrement, par le biais d’un programme de médecine mobile. Ces traitements s’attaquent aux vers et parasites qui provoquent des problèmes de malnutrition, parce que les enfants ne peuvent pas absorber correctement les nutriments. Plusieurs enfants meurent aussi de déshydration à cause de la diarrhée provoquée par les parasites. Les médicaments qu’ils utilisent sont appelés Albendazole et Mebendazol. Un traitement de deux jours peut déjà permettre à un enfant de se débarrasser des vers et parasites pendant une période allant jusqu’à six mois. Cela peut donc avoir des conséquences significatives sur leur état général de santé. Dans les zones rurales, les villageois malades doivent parcourir des distances considérables pour se rendre dans les cliniques urbaines. Le diagnostic est gratuit, mais ils ne peuvent souvent pas acheter les traitements ou médicaments appropriés. Grâce à notre contribution, les enfants les plus pauvres et vulnérables du Guatemala seront traités adéquatement.

Pour en savoir plus : www.outreachforworldhope.org



Mars 2007

3,830 $ ont été envoyés à Coptic Orphans pour financer l’achat de livres pour environ 500 enfants défavorisés en Egypte. Par le biais du programme "Not Alone", l’organisation travaille pour remédier aux difficultés qui mènent à l’analphabétisme, par exemple le manque de manuels scolaires. En plus de fournir ces manuels, il faut offrir aux étudiants des livres intéressants et divertissants qu’ils peuvent lire gratuitement. En ayant accès à des livres qui les intéressent, ces enfants à risque pourront améliorer leurs habiletés en lecture. S’ils arrivent à lire correctement, leur estime de soi en sera renforcée. Coptic Orphans a pour objectif de combler le fossé existant entre les riches et les pauvres au sein du système éducatif égyptien. Comme c’est souvent le cas, les services gouvernementaux sont insuffisants et on a besoin des services d’organisations non-gouvernementales pour mener à bien cette mission.

Rapport sur le projet

Pour en savoir plus : www.copticorphans.org

Photos supplémentaires : Photos des projets 2007.



Avril 2007

3,700 $ ont été accordés au Fonds international pour l’éducation et la conservation (International Conservation and Education Fund) pour produire une série de courts-métrages (mais qui ont des effets à long terme !) à des fins éducatives en République centrafricaine. Ces petits films traitent de trois sujets de santé importants pour le peuple Ba’aka et la survie de leur culture : la malarie, les puces parasitaires à effet paralysant et l’hygiène générale. Ils seront réalisés localement et diffusés à travers toutes les communautés ba’akas de la région. La République centrafricaine est l’un des pays les moins développés de la planète, classé 172ème sur 177 selon l’index de développement humain des Nations Unies. Les gens ont seulement 50 % de chances d’atteindre 40 ans ; plus de 10 % des nourrissons meurent à la naissance ; et un quart des enfants de moins de cinq ans souffrent de malnutrition. La mauvaise santé des habitants contribue de manière significative à l’appauvrissement national et aux déficiences de la population en matière d’éducation.

Pour en savoir plus : www.incef.org

Photos supplémentaires : Photos des projets 2007.

See one of the films: Chiggers



Mai 2007

3,710 $ ont été accordés à l’organisation All As One au Sierra Leone pour l’achat de deux citernes d’eau de 5,000 litres permettant de stocker de grandes quantités d’eau pour approvisionner l’orphelinat de l’organisation All As One, où les employés ont du mal à avoir accès à de l’eau en quantité suffisante pour les 50 enfants dont ils s’occupent. Lorsque la ville fournit de l’eau, les travailleurs d’All As One se tiennent prêts, avec des tuyaux et des petits bidons pour récupérer l’eau et la stocker pendant quelques jours. Ils disposent actuellement de cinq citernes de taille moyenne, mais elles ne permettent de stocker de l’eau que pour trois ou quatre jours, et les réserves sont à sec s’il n’y a pas de nouvel approvisionnement. Lorsque la ville n’arrive pas à fournir de l’eau, les travailleurs essaient de trouver des camions-citerne et de convaincre les chauffeurs de camion d’apporter de l’eau au centre – ce qui n’est pas évident étant donné la pénurie des ressources hydriques et la demande actuelle. Selon un rapport de 2006 d’Oxfam, réalisé en collaboration avec WaterAid, en 2003, “seulement 22 % de la population d’environ cinq millions de personnes avait accès de manière durable à de l’eau potable venant d’une source protégée.”

Pour en savoir plus : www.allasone.org

Photos supplémentaires : Photos des projets 2007.



Juin 2007

3,750 $ ont été accordés à la Fondation pour le développement durable pour l’aider à ériger une aire de jeux dans la communauté défavorisée de Villa Elisa, située aux abords de La Plata, en Argentine. Au coeur de cette zone frappée par la pauvreté se trouve un centre communautaire appelé Asociacion Apoyo Familiar Casa del Nino Arco Iris (Arco Iris). Des “motivateurs” y travaillent, servant de modèles positifs aux enfants, les faisant participer à des activités sociales et éducatives et leur accordant l’attention dont ils sont souvent privés chez eux. Dans les bidonvilles de Villa Elisa, plusieurs enfants doivent cuisiner, nettoyer et s’occuper de leurs frères et soeurs et/ou cousins. Pour la plupart de ces enfants, la seule façon d’échapper à la réalité est de passer un peu de temps chez Arco Iris. A l’heure actuelle, Arco Iris ne dispose pas des facilités adéquates et des ressources permettant de répondre aux besoins des enfants de la localité, et l’aire de jeux n’est rien de plus qu’un champ plutôt sale. Notre contribution permettra de payer les constructeurs locaux, les matériaux de construction nécessaires (bois, ciment, sable, clous, vis) et les installations de cette aire de jeux : glissoire, balançoires, balançoire-pneu, barres asymétriques, filets et ballons de basket, filets et ballons de soccer, cordes à danser, houla hoops, et bicyclettes.

Pour en savoir plus : www.fsdinternational.org



Juillet 2007

3,750 $ ont été accordés à ANDESUR à Cuzco, au Pérou, afin de rénover un centre communautaire aidant les enfants qui doivent travailler dans les marchés locaux pour subvenir aux besoins de leur famille. Le centre Wanchaq, où les adolescents peuvent avoir accès à des formations professionnelles et à une aide éducative, est plus que délabré. Plus de 100 enfants utilisent actuellement les services du centre, dont le toit fuit et qui n’a pas de murs permanents. Notre contribution servira à construire quatre murs de bois, installer un toit et une porte sûrs, construire des toilettes, installer l’électricité, couvrir le plancher pour qu’il soit plus stable, améliorer la bibliothèque pour offrir davantage de livres scolaires et encourager la lecture, et peindre le centre. Dans une ville où plus de la moitié de la population vit dans la pauvreté, il est crucial d’agir et de faire une différence – aussi modeste soit-elle – dans l’éducation et le bien-être à long terme de ces enfants.




Août 2007

3,700 $ ont été accordés à l’Association des Conseils de développement au Mali, afin de construire une boutique pour une coopérative de femmes, pour qu’elles puissent vendre leurs produits fabriqués à partir de beurre de karité. Nous avons pu fournir trois tonnes de ciment, 20 plaques de fer, six poteaux d’angle, des sacs de sable et de gravier, de la peinture, une porte et deux fenêtres, tout en prenant en charge le travail de maçonnerie, la décoration intérieure de la boutique et la formation en gestion des femmes qui y vendront leurs produits. Dans un pays où plus de la moitié de la population vit avec moins d’un dollar par jour, les opportunités économiques novatrices – surtout pour les femmes – sont vitales. Les femmes des zones rurales du Mali sont particulièrement touchées par la pauvreté et elles sont souvent confinées à répéter le modèle social traditionnel. L’éducation est au coeur du problème : 98 % des femmes de la communauté ciblée par le projet ne sont jamais allées à l’école.

Photos supplémentaires : Photos des projets 2007.



Septembre 2007

5,200 $ ont été envoyés au Centre de santé communautaire de Bwindi pour construire un centre d’hébergement pour femmes enceintes. La situation géographique du lieu a été identifiée comme étant un obstacle à l’accouchement au Centre de santé. Le Bwindi est une région éloignée, rurale et montagneuse, dépourvue de transport public et avec peu de routes. Les femmes ne peuvent pas toujours se rendre au Centre de santé lors de la rupture de leurs eaux, même si elles souhaiteraient y accoucher (certaines devraient voyager pendant plusieurs heures). Notre contribution de septembre a permis la construction de nouvelles installations, où les femmes peuvent habiter gratuitement jusqu’à la naissance, à condition de nettoyer elles-mêmes leur chambre. Nos fonds ont été utilisés pour construire la structure de base, y compris l’excavation du site pour aplanir le terrain et préparer les tranchées pour la fondation en béton ; pour financer la toiture, les portes et fenêtres, la cuisine, les toilettes sèches, la tuyauterie d’approvisionnement en eau de la citerne et un robinet avec une base en béton ; enfin, nous avons financé neuf lits, des casiers, couvertures et matelas.

Pour en savoir plus : www.bchc.ug



Octobre 2007

3,720 $ ont été accordés au Projet d’éducation globale des femmes pour faciliter l’éducation de 60 jeunes filles de villages ruraux du Sénégal. Notre contribution a permis de financer l’éducation de 35 fillettes à l’école primaire et de 25 jeunes filles du secondaire. Nous avons assumé l’entièreté de leurs frais d’inscription pour toute la prochaine année académique ; acheté toutes leurs fournitures scolaires, y compris les sacs d’école, manuels, cahiers, crayons et stylos. En outre, nous avons aussi financé l’achat de fournitures personnelles telles du savon pour les filles, pendant un an. Seulement la moitié des enfants sénégalais terminent l’école primaire. La moitié des enfants et 70 % des femmes adultes du Sénégal sont analphabètes (et 50 % des hommes adultes sont analphabètes).

Pour en savoir plus : www.womensglobal.org



Novembre 2007

3,700 $ ont été envoyés à War Child Canada pour fournir des manuels scolaires et des crayons dans le cadre d’un programme d’alphabétisation mis en oeuvre dans quatre camps pour personnes déplacées à l’intérieur de leur pays situés au Darfour, Soudan. Notre donation a permis la distribution de 1,620 manuels scolaires et de 900 stylos aux enfants dans le besoin. Les manuels présentent les bases de lecture et de mathématiques (selon la disponibilité, nous espérons qu’ils soient bilingues, arabe et anglais). L’objectif de cette éducation informelle est de permettre aux enfants n’ayant pas été correctement scolarisés de combler leur retard pour pouvoir être réintégrés dans le cursus scolaire normal. Les livres resteront dans les camps et seront ainsi à la disposition des milliers d’enfants qui y passeront au fil du temps. En 2005, War Child Canada a mis en oeuvre son Projet d’aide humanitaire dans l’ouest du Darfour, qui a connu un grand succès. Quatre centres de soutien aux enfants et aux personnes déplacés ont vu le jour dans chacun des camps pour personnes déplacées d’Ardamata, Dorti, Krinding et Riyad, situés aux abords de El Geneina, dans l’ouest du Darfour. Chacun des camps héberge environ 20,000 personnes. En plus d’être des havres de paix dans une région particulièrement violente, les centres offrent un soutien psychosocial ; des formations en alphabétisation ; des activités récréatives, y compris du volleyball et du soccer ; et des formations professionnelles en maçonnerie et en conservation des aliments. De telles activités aident à améliorer le bien-être général des enfants et des autres réfugiés des camps, à faire reculer la pauvreté et à empêcher les jeunes garçons de rejoindre l’armée ou les milices rebelles.

Pour en savoir plus : www.warchild.ca



The $10 Club is a nonprofit corporation registered in the District of Columbia.
Contributions are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.


The $10 Club 2040 Tunlaw Rd., NW Washington, DC 20007 (202) 337-3123 adam@thetendollarclub.org

About The $10 Club
Poverty Alleviation Projects
Project Photos
How You Can Help
Links
The $10 Club Home
The $10 Club
The $10 Club



Poverty Alleviation Projects

2007 Projects

JANUARY | FEBRUARY | MARCH | APRIL | MAY | JUNE | JULY | AUGUST | SEPTEMBER | OCTOBER | NOVEMBER | DECEMBER




January 2007 project January 2007

$3,500 was given to the Chikumbuso project in Zambia to expand their building and enhance their efforts to help Zambian women in need. The program is based in Ngombe Township, targeting widows, orphans and grandmothers whose lives have been changed by the devastating effect of HIV/AIDS. Our funds will be used to upgrade the building by providing cement, timber, sand, stones, cement blocks, roofing, doors, door frames, window frames and glass. Additionally, we'll be able to provide five new sewing machines, a variety of sewing materials, and kitchen utensils. This room will be used to hold literacy classes, HIV awareness talks, and skills training. The class will include training in sewing, preparation of formula for their infants who are not able to breastfeed, the preparation of healthy and affordable food, and life skills. Read more.

Project update

For more information: www.chikumbuso.com

Additional photos: 2007 Project Photos.



February 2007 project February 2007

$3,520 was given to Outreach for World Hope to fund the provision of anti-parasitic treatments throughout sixteen Guatemalan villages. Our grant will provide nearly 2,000 people with otherwise unaffordable parasite treatments through a Mobile Medicine Program. These treatments will impact the worms and parasites that compound malnutrition problems because children are unable to absorb nutrients efficiently-many children die of dehydration due to diarrhea caused by the parasites. The drugs that they use are called Albendazole and Mebendazol. One two-day course of treatment can keep a child free of worms and parasites for up to six months. This makes a significant improvement in their overall health and nutritional status. In rural areas, sick villagers have to travel considerable distances to visit clinics in the cities. And while they are diagnosed for free, they are often unable to pay for the treatments or medications. With our grant, poor, vulnerable children in Guatemala will be treated appropriately. Read more.

For more information: www.outreachforworldhope.org



March 2007 project March 2007

$3,830 was given to Coptic Orphans to purchase books for approximately 500 underprivileged children in Egypt. Through the "Not Alone Program", the organization works to remedy the difficulties that lead to illiteracy-primarily the lack of access to school books. In addition to providing textbooks for use in school, there is a need to provide students with interesting, pleasurable books that the children can get at no cost and read for enjoyment. Given access to books that they want to read, these at-risk children will improve their reading skills and the confidence that comes with literacy. Coptic Orphans aims to diminish the disparity between rich and poor within the Egyptian educational system. As is so often the case, there is a real need to supplement provision of government services with assistance from the nonprofit sector. Read more.

Project update

For more information: www.copticorphans.org

Additional photos: 2007 Project Photos.



April 2007 project April 2007

$3,700 was given to the International Conservation and Education Fund to produce a series of short (but life-saving) educational films in the Central African Republic on three health topics of relevance to the Ba'aka people and the survival of their culture. These films-about malaria, crippling parasitic fleas, and general hygiene-will be produced locally and shown throughout Ba'aka communities in the region. The Central African Republic is one of the least developed countries on the planet, ranked at 172 out of 177 on the United Nations Human Development Index. There is a mere 50/50 chance that people there will survive to age 40; more than 10% of infants die at birth; and a quarter of children under five years old are malnourished. Poor health is a significant contributor to national impoverishment and educational deficiencies. Read more.

For more information: www.incef.org

Additional photos: 2007 Project Photos.

See the films: Chiggers, Preventing Malaria, and Forest in Peril



May 2007 project May 2007

$3,710 was given to All As One in Sierra Leone to buy two 5,000 liter water tanks to hold large stores of water to supply the All As One orphanage, where shelter workers scramble to access water from the main water system to care for the 50 children in they sustain. When the city supplies water, the All As One workers are ready with hoses and small tanks to capture the water and keep it in reserve for a few days. They currently have five medium-sized tanks, but it only lasts three or four days if more water doesn't arrive to replenish them. When the city is not able to supply water, the staff seeks out water tankers and tries to convince the truck drivers to bring water to the children's center-which is challenging given the current demand and competition for limited water resources. According to a 2006 report by Oxfam in collaboration with WaterAid, in 2003, only 22 percent "of the population of some five million people had access to a sustainable supply of safe drinking water from a protected source." Read more.

For more information: www.allasone.org

Additional photos: 2007 Project Photos.



June 2007

$3,750 was given to the Foundation for Sustainable Development to help erect a playground in the impoverished community of Villa Elisa, located on the outskirts of La Plata, Argentina. In the heart of the poverty-stricken area of Villa Elisa lies a community center named Association Apoyo Familiar Casa del Nino Arco Iris (Arco Iris). Estimuladores (motivators) serve as positive role models for children at Arco Iris, engaging the kids who attend in social and educational activities, and providing them with some much-needed attention. When at home in the slums of Villa Elisa, many children must cook, clean and look after their siblings and/or cousins. For most of these kids, the only escape from this reality is their time spent at Arco Iris. Currently, Arco Iris does not have adequate facilities and supplies to meet the demand from local children, and the play area is little more than a filthy field. Our grant will support the salary of local men to do the construction, and pay for the wood, cement, sand, nails and screws, a slide, swing set, tire swing, monkey bars, basketball hoop, basketballs, soccer nets, soccer balls, jump ropes, hoola hoops, and bicycles. Read more.

For more information: www.fsdinternational.org



July 2007 project July 2007

$3,750 was given to ANDESUR in Cusco, Peru to help them renovate a community center serving children forced to work in local markets to support their families. The Wanchaq Center, where adolescents have access to professional training and educational assistance, has fallen into utter disrepair. More than 100 children currently use the facility, which has a leaky roof and lacks permanent walls. Our grant will be used to construct four wooden walls, install a secure roof and door, build a bathroom, set up electric service, coat the floor to provide stability, improve the library to offer better help with schoolwork and encourage good reading habits, and paint the facility. In a town where more than half the population lives in poverty it is vital that we step in and make what modest contribution we can to the children's long-term development and well-being. Read more.

Additional photos: 2007 Project Photos.



August 2007 project August 2007

$3,700 was given to the Association of Councils for Development in Mali tobuild a boutique for a women's cooperative to sell their Shea butter products. We were able to provide three tons of cement, 20 iron sheets, six corner posts, bags of sand and gravel, paint, a door and two windows, and underwrite the masonry work, internal furnishing of the boutique, and management training to the women who will sell their products there. In a nation where more than half of the population lives on less than a dollar a day, innovative economic opportunities-especially for women-are vitally important. Women in rural parts of Mali are hit particularly hard by poverty and they are often confined to traditional social roles; education is a serious part of the problem with 98% of the women in the community served by this project have never been to school. Read more.




September 2007 project September 2007

$5,200 was given to the Bwindi Community Health Centre to build a Waiting Mother's Hostel. One of the barriers that has been identified to birthing in the Health Centre is geographical. Bwindi is a remote, rural, mountainous area with no public transport and few roads. Women cannot travel (some for several hours) to the Health Centre when they are in labor, even though they may want to deliver there. Our September grant enabled the building of the new facility where women could stay until birth free of charge provided they clean the rooms themselves. Our funds were used to build the substructure, including excavation over the site to level the ground and prepare trenches for the concrete foundation; fund the roofing, doors and windows, kitchen, a pit latrine, water piping from the water tank and a tap with a concrete base; lastly, pay for nine beds, lockers, blankets, and mattresses. Read more.

Project update

For more information: www.bchc.ug

Additional photos: 2007 Project Photos.



October 2007 project October 2007

$3,720 was given to the Women's Global Education Project to facilitate the education of 60 girls in rural Senegalese villages. Our grant supported the education of 35 girls in elementary school and 25 girls in secondary school. We provided 100% of their school fees for the entire coming school year; bought all of their school supplies including knapsacks, books, notebooks, pens, and pencils; and additionally we provided personal items such as soap for the girls for the year. Only half of Senegalese children finish a full course of primary school. Half of Senegalese children and seventy percent of adult women are illiterate (compare this to the fact that fifty percent of adult men are illiterate). Read more.




November 2007 project November 2007

$3,700 was given to War Child Canada to provide textbooks and pens for a literacy program at four camps for Internally Displaced People in and around Darfur, Sudan. Our donation enabled the distribution of 1,620 textbooks and 900 pens to kids in need. The textbooks cover basic literacy and math (depending on availability, hopefully in both Arabic and English). The aim of this informal education is to provide kids who have missed out on education to "catch-up" and rejoin regular school. The books will stay in the camps and, therefore, be able to help thousands of children there for years to come. Since 2005, War Child Canada has been successfully implementing its Humanitarian Relief Project in West Darfur, and has since established four support centers for displaced children and youth-one in each of the Ardamata, Dorti, Krinding and Riyad IDP camps located on the outskirts of El Geneina, West Darfur. Each camp has approximately 20,000 people. In addition to providing a safe space in the midst of incredible violence, the centers provide psychosocial support; literacy training; recreational activities including volleyball and soccer; and vocational training in masonry and food preservation. Such programming helps to improve the overall well-being of children and others, alleviate poverty, and deter young males from joining rebel armies and militias. Read more.

For more information: www.warchild.ca

Additional photos: 2007 Project Photos.



December 2007 project December 2007

$3,830 was given to H˘pital Albert Schweitzer (HAS) to repair the roads to its health centers in Haiti. With our grant, HAS can hire teams to repair and maintain the most damaged sections of road. The teams will break up boulders and add river rock to fill the gullies, making for a more passable road. They will improve the worst 1.5 kilometers of the Tienne-Gabriel road. We provide funds for the hiring of masons and give them the tools they need to accomplish the task at hand. This month we will allow for safer transport of patients and equipment, thus maintaining the hospital's important connection with its rural neighbors. HAS staff uses all-terrain vehicles when traveling to the health centers. The roads-washed out gullies-leading to the health centers can be extremely treacherous. Vehicles have difficulty traveling in the muddy ruts which contain boulders. Due to the isolated location, if a vehicle becomes damaged on the rough roads it can be out of commission for an extended period waiting for repair parts to be delivered. This delay directly affects patient care because of the interrupted delivery of medicines, vaccines, and other medical supplies. Read more.

Project update

For more information: www.hashaiti.org

Additional photos: 2007 Project Photos.

Read about more projects in 2008


The $10 Club is a nonprofit corporation registered in the District of Columbia.
Contributions are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.


The $10 Club 2040 Tunlaw Rd., NW Washington, DC 20007 (202) 337-3123 adam@thetendollarclub.org